(740) 622-0010 | 220 S. 4th St., Coshocton, OH 43812

Kathy Gwinn of Coshocton has been appointed by Judge Van Blanchard, Coshocton County Court of Common Pleas Probate/Juvenile Division, to a 5-year term on the Coshocton Foundation’s Distribution Committee effective April 1, 2020. Gwinn succeeds committee member Steve Foster who served 4 years of an unfulfilled term and then his own 5-year term. 

“The Trustees and I are very pleased that Kathy is willing to become more deeply involved in the Coshocton Foundation by serving on the Distribution Committee,” stated the Foundation’s Executive Director Bob Pell, noting that Gwinn and her husband are supporters of the Foundation and established the donor advised Blessings Fund in 2018. Pell added that Kathy’s community connections, perspective and skill set will be an asset to the committee, and that she is eager to contribute.

“I have witnessed the impact the Coshocton Foundation has had in our county,” Gwinn said. “It will be an honor to help continue the Foundation’s mission.”

Gwinn is a native of Coshocton and graduate of Coshocton High School. She and her husband, Dr. Bob Gwinn, have three children, Brian, Laura and Daniel. They also have two grandchildren, Max and Evan. Their family attends Central Christian Church where Kathy sings in the choir and is a co-leader of the Christian Education Program.  

In 1982 Mrs. Gwinn began working as a teacher’s assistant at Hopewell School with the Coshocton County Board of Developmental Disabilities (CCBDD). She later transferred from Hopewell School to the Coshocton City Schools and continued working as a special education and preschool paraprofessional. Since retiring in 2018, she has continued to substitute in the city school district. In 2011 she formed a private company, Family Respite Care, LLC, to provide independent direct service care to area children with developmental disabilities.

Mrs. Gwinn enjoys traveling, gardening and the arts. She previously served as treasurer of the Coshocton Arts Guild and as a board member and treasurer of the Pomerene Center for the Arts. She also volunteers at Roscoe Village in landscaping and education.

The Foundation’s Distribution Committee has five members and it has autonomous authority to issue grants from the unrestricted fund. The committee also approve grants from many restricted funds. One member of the committee is appointed by each of the following: Common Pleas Judge, Probate Court Judge, Coshocton Mayor, and the presiding officer of the County Commissioners; the final member is selected by the four appointed members. Members of the committee select the chairman. Terms are for five years with one term ending each year. The By-Laws were amended in January of 2018, limiting newly appointed members may serve only one term. The Trustees took this action to allow for more input from local, community-minded citizens with new perspectives on tackling issues and seizing opportunities.