(740) 622-0010 | 220 S. 4th St., Coshocton, OH 43812

Winners of six adult or “non-traditional student” scholarships have been announced by the Coshocton Foundation.  Michael Moore was awarded the $2,000 Jones Metal Products Company Adult Legacy Scholarship for 2020. He is studying criminal justice at Central Ohio Technical College. The Jones Metal award was created in 2013 to honor the 90th anniversary of the company. The winner is chosen by COTC admission staff members.   Caley Ridenbaugh was named winner of the Ruby S. Hawthorne Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000. Caley is attending Oho University’s Lancaster Campus, seeking a Bachelor’s degree in Early Childhood Education. The Hawthorne scholarship was established by Juliet Norris Lacy and Christyn Norris Kurtz in memory of their grandmother Ruby Hawthorne. Ms. Lacy and Ms. Kurtz assist in selecting a winner.

Caley Ridenbaugh also was the winner of the Eleanor Wade Custer Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000. This award was created through the Will of Monford D. Custer to honor his daughter Eleanor, and was first awarded in 1981.

Nathaniel Thompson was the winner of the Beulah Brownfield Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000. Nathaniel is attending Ohio University, majoring in Civil Engineering with Construction Management Certification. This award was established through the Last Will & Testament of Mrs. Brownfield, who died in 1977.

Kelly Bratton was announced as the winner of the two-year renewable $1,000 Kenneth Berry Memorial Scholarship. Kelly is attending Capital University Law School in pursuit of the Doctor of Jurisprudence degree. The award was created to honor the memory of long-time Coshocton attorney Kenneth Berry.

Brittleigh Smith received the Ruth Schooler Memorial Scholarship, established by Miss Schooler’s family for a student intending to enter the field of business. Brittleigh is enrolled in Mount Vernon Nazarene University’s Master’s in Business Administration program, with a concentration in Human and Social Services Leadership.

In addition to these awards, the Coshocton Foundation is partnering with Central Ohio Technical College in the Coshocton Promise program, guaranteeing qualifying first-degree seeking Coshocton County residents free tuition through the Clarence and Grace Miller Scholarship Fund.

On the high school level, the Coshocton Foundation awards more than 100 scholarships annually to graduating seniors of the local high schools.