(740) 622-0010 | 220 S. 4th St., Coshocton, OH 43812

Winners of five adult or “non-traditional student” scholarships have been announced by the Coshocton Foundation. 

John Bordenkircher was awarded the $2,000 Jones Metal Products Company Scholarship.  John will be pursuing an Associate of Science Degree at Central Ohio Technical College.  The Jones Metal award was created in 2013 to honor the 90th anniversary of the company. The winner is chosen by COTC admission staff members.

Kristi Timmons was named winner of the Ruby S. Hawthorne Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Kristi is attending Muskingum University in their accelerated Masters of Education Degree program. The Hawthorne scholarship was established by Juliet Norris Lacy and Christyn Norris Kurtz in memory of their grandmother Ruby Hawthorne.  Ms. Lacy and Ms. Kurtz assist in selecting a winner.

Karli Stonebraker was the winner of the Beulah Brownfield Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Karli is a student in the Nursing program at Kent State University’s Tuscarawas Campus.  This award was established through the Last Will & Testament of Mrs. Brownfield, who died in 1977.

Megan Philabaum was named the winner of the Eleanor Wade Custer Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Megan is a second-year student at Central Ohio Technical College, pursuing an Associate degree in Business Management. The award was created through the Will of Monford D. Custer to honor his daughter Eleanor, and was first awarded in 1981.

Leslie Fehrman Ridenbaugh received the Ruth Schooler Memorial Adult Scholarship, established by Miss Schooler’s family for a student intending to enter the field of business. Having recently opened her own mental health services office, Leslie is entering a Doctorate of Social Work program through Capella University.

In addition to these awards, the Coshocton Foundation is partnering with Central Ohio Technical College in the Coshocton Promise program, guaranteeing qualifying first-degree seeking Coshocton County residents free tuition through the Clarence and Grace Miller Fund.  Also, two scholarships in the amount of $1,750 each are offered to students in the master’s program at the Coshocton Campus of Muskingum University.

On the high school level, the Coshocton Foundation awards more than 100 scholarships annually to graduating seniors of the local high schools.