(740) 622-0010 | 220 S. 4th St., Coshocton, OH 43812

Winners of all five adult or “non-traditional student” scholarships for 2022 now have been announced by the Coshocton Foundation.

Taylar Parks was named winner of the Jones Metal Products Company Adult Legacy Scholarship. Parks, a West Lafayette resident, was awarded the $2,000 scholarship for Coshocton County residents attending Central Ohio Technical College. A 2017 Newcomerstown and Buckeye Career Center graduate, Taylar will be majoring in Sonography while at COTC. The Jones Metal award was created in 2013 to honor the 90th anniversary of the company. The winner is chosen by COTC admission staff members.

Alexis Fry was named winner of the Ruby S. Hawthorne Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Lexi is attending The Ohio State University, seeking a Master’s degree in Social Work. The Hawthorne scholarship was established by Juliet Norris Lacy and Christyn Norris Kurtz in memory of their grandmother Ruby Hawthorne.  Ms. Lacy and Ms. Kurtz assist in selecting a winner each year.

Shayla Adams was the winner of the Beulah Brownfield Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Shayla will be attending the University of Cincinnati’s Clermont College, entering their Medical Billing + Coding program. This award was established through the Last Will & Testament of Mrs. Brownfield, who died in 1977.

Kelly Fender was named winner of the Ruth Schooler Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Kelly is a student at Liberty University, pursuing an Associate’s degree in Accounting. The Ruth Schooler Memorial Scholarship was established by Miss Schooler’s family for a student intending to enter the field of business. 

Alyssa Haines was the winner of the two-year renewable $1,000 Kenneth Berry Memorial Scholarship. Alyssa is attending Ohio University Zanesville in pursuit of an Associate’s degree in Nursing. The award was created to honor the memory of long-time Coshocton attorney Kenneth Berry.

In addition to these awards, the Coshocton Foundation is partnering with Central Ohio  Technical College in the Coshocton Promise program, guaranteeing qualifying first-degree seeking Coshocton County residents free tuition through the Clarence and Grace Miller Scholarship Fund. On the high school level, the Coshocton Foundation awards more than 100 scholarships annually to graduating seniors of the area local high schools.