(740) 622-0010 | 220 S. 4th St., Coshocton, OH 43812

The Coshocton Foundation has announced winners of four adult or “non-traditional student” scholarships for 2021.

Tiffany Addy was awarded the $2,000 Jones Metal Products Company Adult Legacy Scholarship. She is enrolled in COTC’s LPN to RN program. The Jones Metal award was created in 2013 to honor the 90th anniversary of the company. The winner is chosen by COTC admission staff members.

Taylor Ireland was named winner of the Ruby S. Hawthorne Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Taylor is attending Kent State University, seeking a Bachelor’s degree in Middle Childhood Education. The Hawthorne scholarship was established by Juliet Norris Lacy and Christyn Norris Kurtz in memory of their grandmother Ruby Hawthorne.  Ms. Lacy and Ms. Kurtz assist in selecting a winner each year.

Warren Cox was the winner of the Beulah Brownfield Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Warren will be attending Zane State College, entering the Physical Therapy Assistant program.  This award was established through the Last Will & Testament of Mrs. Brownfield, who died in 1977.

Jesse Vandenbark was named winner of the Eleanor Wade Custer Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,000.  Jesse is a student at the Mount Carmel College of Nursing, pursuing a Bachelor’s degree in Nursing through their fast track program. The award was created through the Will of Monford D. Custer to honor his daughter Eleanor, and was first awarded in 1981.

Kelly Bratton was previously announced as the winner of the two-year renewable $1,000 Kenneth Berry Memorial Scholarship. Kelly continues to attend Capital University Law School in pursuit of the Doctor of Jurisprudence degree. The award was created to honor the memory of long-time Coshocton attorney Kenneth Berry and will again be awarded in 2022.

There were no applicants for the Ruth Schooler Memorial Scholarship, established by Miss Schooler’s family for a student intending to enter the field of business. 

In addition to these awards, the Coshocton Foundation is partnering with Central Ohio  Technical College in the Coshocton Promise program, guaranteeing qualifying first-degree seeking Coshocton County residents free tuition through the Clarence and Grace Miller Scholarship Fund. On the high school level, the Coshocton Foundation awards more than 100 scholarships annually to graduating seniors of the area local high schools.